BATTLE WOUNDS (NSFW)

October 25, 2009: Saint Crispin’s Day

“Then will he strip his sleeve and show his scars,

And say`These wounds I had on Crispin’s Day.’ “

- Henry V, William Shakespeare

scars

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

14 Responses to “BATTLE WOUNDS (NSFW)”

  1. RHONDA LYLE Says:

    HEY STEVE,
    I ADMIRE YOU FOR BEING SO COURAGIOUS!! THESE ARE YOUR BADGE OF COURAGE!! THANKS FOR BEING AN INSPIRATION TO US ALL!!

    RHONDA LYLE ~ (ZEB’S MOM)

  2. carolyn compton Says:

    1967 I wasn’t born yet
    1977 I was in Class 2 Olive running around and playing
    1988 I was Graduating High School and going out dancing
    2002 I was teaching high school Visual Arts and painting

    YOU are being a warrior, showing courage after courage!
    I was whinging about whether I was in fashion or not.

    PS those scars are hot.

  3. Twitter Trackbacks for BATTLE WOUNDS (NSFW) « Adventures of a Funky Heart! [tricuspid.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com Says:

    […] BATTLE WOUNDS (NSFW) « Adventures of a Funky Heart! tricuspid.wordpress.com/2009/10/24/battle-wounds-nsfw – view page – cached Tags: Cardiac Kid, CHD, Congenital Heart Defect, Congenital Heart Disease, Heart Surgery, Heart Warrior, Henry V, scars, survivor, Tricuspid Atresia, William Shakespeare — From the page […]

  4. Lisa@ All That and a Box of Rocks Says:

    A true map of the life of a warrior!

  5. Wendy Says:

    Hi Steve

    Thank you for showing your badges of courage! You are a true warrior and an inspiration!

    Wendy

  6. Andrea Himmelberger Says:

    Thanks for having the courage to share your scars with the world. I think they are pretty cool. I also think it’s neat that you have one for each surgery. Drew’s had three surgeries, but they just reopen his sternal incision each time. Three surgeries, one scar. But he does have lots of drainage tube scars, they put those in different places every time.

  7. Slatsette Says:

    AMAZING. You are such a warrior. Thank you for sharing your marks of a survivor with all of us.

  8. Laurel Nelson Says:

    Looks like my daughter, except now they just open up the same incision. But she has that, a drainage tube one right below it, and then 3 below that from her Fontan and then several small ones on her neck from being on ECMO as an infant after her first surgery. Battle scars indeed!

  9. rlbates Says:

    It’s wonderful that you have survived and now encourage others! Good for you, Steve!!!

  10. Dr. Wes Says:

    There’s a bright side to all this, too: Chicks dig scars!”
    ;)

  11. Oh no you didn’t! « Adventures of a Funky Heart! Says:

    […] that is not true. Scars are a mark of battles fought – and won. I have stripped my sleeve and shown you my scars right here on this blog. A woman won’t just show the world her scars, but she sees them in a […]

  12. What do you see? « Adventures of a Funky Heart! Says:

    […] have a chest full of scars (Long time Funky Heart! readers have seen them) and they don’t bother me. I see them every day in the mirror and I am comfortable with them; […]

  13. Tim Says:

    Hello Steve –

    I’m an Emergency Physician preparing a lecture about care of the adult congenital heart patient in the Emergency Room. I’d like to share your thoughts with the audience.

    What do you wish more Emergency Physicians knew about CHD?
    What has been your experience in getting the care you need?

    Please drop me an email if you like.
    thanks,
    Tim

  14. Sarah Says:

    Hi, I just came across your page while searching for some inspirational quotes and things for a heart disease survivor. I also had the Fontan surgery,I had it In 1986, I was six years old. Since then I have suffered a TIA, and two strokes. Im told I will at some point have to face another open heart surgery.
    Thanks for sharing!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers