It’s a Good Day in my Neighborhood!

As we say here in the South, “Ya’ll having a good day?”

It’s been a good day here. In fact, I got a head start on it Friday when I learned that the blood work I had done Thursday looked good. This is really good news, especially from the Anticoagulation Clinic. If your INR is off they will either increase or decrease your dosage of blood thinning medication, and after a change I am always worrying if I’m on the correct dosage.

Today has been a good day, even though I haven’t done that much. I’ve walked, played with my dog, cleaned house (ok, maybe it wasn’t that good of a day!), watched the Olympics, dozed off during the Olympics, and watched the Little League Baseball Championships. A really good day.

Come to think of it, the day I got airlifted to Emory University Hospital suffering from Congestive Heart Failure was a good day.

The day I had that stroke was a pretty good day, too.

Because through all that – and more – my heart just keeps on going. It was broken when I got it, and I guess I SHOULD have returned it while it was still under warranty, but I misplaced the receipt. Ive taken it in to be repaired three times, and each time the repair has helped, but hasn’t completely fixed it. But it doesn’t seem to matter, my heart is like a Timex watch: “It takes a licking and keeps on ticking!”

Yes, I have a severe heart defect. My cardiologist once told me that as far as he knew, I might be one of the oldest living Tricuspid Atresia patients around. (Thankfully, I met someone a couple of years older just a week later!) Under normal circumstances, I oughta be dead. But thanks to great doctors and nurses, great parents, and lots of wonderful friends, I’m still here! And that makes any day a good day!

So I’ll ask you again… are you having a good day?

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “It’s a Good Day in my Neighborhood!”

  1. Shaun Thomas Says:

    I wish they made those stats more easily available to us. πŸ™‚ I’ve got a laundry-list of defects, and I don’t think I’ll ever know how all the mortality figures go together, but I’m alive *now*, and plan on staying that way. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

