Future Plans

“How do you plan to do that, Indy?”

“I don’t know, I’m making this up as I go along!” – Indiana Jones, from Raiders of the Lost Ark

I am making this up as I go along… and some nights, I don’t know what I want to write about! The life of an adult with Tricuspid Atresia – this adult, at least – is a bit on the boring side. And trust me, I like it like that. Boring means there is no crisis, no looming problems, and no unwanted encounters with doctors. But it also means that everything is a bit on the quiet side.

But I am NOT “making it up”… everything I have told you (or will tell you) is true. So tonight, let’s talk about the future adventures of this Funky Heart. Where are we going from here?

In November, we have a major milestone to celebrate: November 29 is the 64th anniversary of the first Congenital Heart Surgery, the Blalock-Taussig Shunt! Funky Heart travels to Washington, DC in February, for Lobby Day 2009. And, I need a new cell phone. (Huh? Why is that important?) My trusty, loyal cell phone is old and on its last legs, and I am hoping to get a new one with Wi-Fi and a web browser. If I do – and everything works correctly – perhaps I can liveblog Lobby Day for those of you who can’t come! I also hope to interview at least one of the Cardiologists who will attend Lobby Day with us, and if I can, you’ll read that interview as soon as I write it.

A week after Lobby Day is a special day for me – the 42nd anniversary of my first heart surgery! 🙂

Funky Heart is on the road again in May 2009 – I won’t say where just yet, but I will say that the location is at a higher altitude than I am now. That’s not much help – my hometown is 200 feet above sea level, so that only eliminates 2% of the country!

That’s my planned activities, hopefully there will be opportunities to spread the good word about Congenital Heart Defect Survivors and the work of the Adult Congenital Heart Association (ACHA) that haven’t presented themselves yet. I love meeting Heart Moms, Heart Dads, and their Cardiac Kids!

When I joined the ACHA four years ago, all I was doing was sitting on my rear end. Since then, I’ve met a lot of fantastic people, learned how to take better care of myself, learned more about my heart than I ever thought there was to know, and gotten involved enough to stand on a stage and talk to my fellow survivors. My future plans are to give back what I can. This blog is a big part of it.

Always a friend;

Steve (The Funky Heart)

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Future Plans”

  1. carolyn compton Says:

    keep going with it mate. i read it everyday and wait for an update.

Leave a Reply

