Why I Love Baseball

“During our sundown perambulations we have seen children playing Base, a game of ball… this game of ball is glorious.” – attributed to Walt Whitman, 1846.

I love baseball. Normally I am an Atlanta Braves fan, but for a little while I am a Philadelphia Phillies fan. When I was in Philadelphia this past May to attend the Adult Congenital Heart Association’s (ACHA) National Convention, two new friends and I went to an Italian restaurant downtown. On the way back to the conference hotel we passed the Phillies’Ā  home field, Citizen’s Bank Park. We figure that gives us enough “street cred” to be “honorary Phillies fans” for the duration of the World Series.

I love the game. Not because, as George Carlin says, it’s all about being safe, and rushing home. Baseball is great because there is no clock. As long as you hit the ball safely, as long as you don’t get that 3rd out, you can keep your half of the inning going. No rule says you must quit after a certain amount of time or number of batters reach the plate; the other team has to force you to stop. And as long as you are batting, good things can happen.

When I was born, I wasn’t given much of a chance. But just like there is no clock in baseball, there is no clock in life. Getting good medical care, taking care of yourself, and the occasional dose of good fortune can extend your time at the plate; not taking care of yourself or participating in high risk activities can strike you out quickly. Life has ups and downs, but keeping your head together and taking care of yourself can keep you going. That is especially true for someone with a heart defect. Fast and furious may try to win the race, but slow and steady sets the pace.

“No matter how good you are, you are going to lose one-third of your games. And no matter how bad you are, you are going to win one third of your games. It’s what you do with the other third that makes the difference.” – Tommy Lasorda.

Hey guys… I’m still batting!

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Why I Love Baseball”

  1. kerelcooper Says:

    Nice post. Baseball is the best but I’m a Mets fan and I don’t understand as a Braves fan how you can cheer for the Phillies? I respectfully dislike both the Braves and Phillies šŸ™‚

    I’m hoping the Rays can come back and win this series. I picked the Rays to win but their letting me down: http://www.ontheblack.com/2008/10/21/five-reasons-the-rays-win-the-world-series/

  2. Steve Says:

    Nothing wrong with the Mets… never been to a game there, though. I gotta back the Phillies, I’m a National League man. There’s just something NOT RIGHT about letting somebody bat for the pitcher! šŸ™‚

  3. Jesse Smith Says:

    Fantastic post! Thank you for sending it to me! Luke has a tee ball and bat at his grandma’s and wants to do nothing else while he’s there. I said in my post that sometimes I get frustrated that it feels like Luke has two strikes against him even before stepping to the plate … but I just had the thought that sometimes the biggest hits – the most talked about and remembered hits – occur when the batter has two strikes against him!

    Have a great weekend!

    Jesse

Leave a Reply

