Where did all these people come from?

I voted this morning, about 9:00 AM Eastern – about the usual time I vote – and the polling place was crowded! I have never seen that many people in line to vote before, and when I signed the log I was voter number 163. Usually I’m in the 80’s to 90’s. If we’re this busy in my little town, some of the larger precincts are really going to be crowded! But your vote is important, so make sure you do!

I’m not going to try to tell you how to vote. If you honestly and seriously consider your choices (at all levels of the government) and make an informed decision, then you have made a wise choice.

2 Responses to “Where did all these people come from?”

  1. carolyn compton Says:

    WE GET FINED IF WE DON’T VOTE IN AUSTRALIA OR IF WE’RE NOT REGISTERED…..one way to make sure everyone votes! here, the main broadcaster 702 ABC (govt. owned -no adverts) stopped the 4 pm news to broadcast the acceptance speech. It seems like the world may change.

    I think that in 1901, when my grandmother was born, women didn’t have the vote (1898 they could vote in only one state; 1902 women got the vote in the newly formed Federation). In 1967, Aboriginal Australians got the vote (how embarrassing and backward does that sound-the year you were born Steve!)

    Now, that 106 year old Obama was talking about, she must have seen everything!

    If people don’t vote, they are wasting their precious civil lives.

  2. Steve Says:

    Fined if you don’t vote? I’m not sure which is more amazing to me, that or the fact that Obama’s speech was 4 PM your time!

    The numbers aren’t completely in yet, but I’m betting some records for turnout were broken here. Our closest Presidential Election ever has been 1960, John Kennedy vs. Richard Nixon. Kennedy won by 120,000 votes nationwide, or 0.02%!

Leave a Reply

