One of THOSE days!

*Sigh*

“Today has been one of those weeks!” I had a nice long post planned, but a problem came up and I’ve spent most of the day trying to fix it.

Things were going good today until I received an e-mail saying that my flight to Washington DC had been changed.  So I’ve been on the phone and the computer all day, canceling the re-booked flight and getting a new ticket. But it all worked out.

2008 has been a good year for the Funky Heart. I began by getting a pretty painful pacemaker change, hurting for days afterward. I was at the point that I told myself that if it hurt this much, then when it was time to replace this pacemaker, I’d probably say no. I’d rather take my chances with a dead pacer and a weak heart. But I got my head together and got over that idea in a hurry. After all, every day, I break my own personal record for number of days alive! Why mess up a good thing?

The Adult Congenital Heart Association (ACHA) Convention in May really got me turned on about the fight against Congenital Heart Defects – there were so many more survivors than I ever imagined! Where did all these people come from? I had never even known anyone else with a heart defect before. Even better, a few weeks before the convention, Amy Verstappen called me and asked if I would like to speak in front everyone… survivors and our Cardiologists. I have no idea how I was chosen; seriously, I think they picked my name out of a hat. But I said yes, got some help in writing it from a friend in Denver, and I took a deep breath and did it. No one threw anything and the audience laughed at all the right times.

And then in July I created Adventures of a Funky Heart!. On July 27th I took a deep breath and pressed the “Publish” key… and here we are. The ACHA even asked me to speak for them in Baltimore, where there was a car waiting to take me to from the airport to the hotel and everyone treated me like a king. If anyone had ever found out that I was just a country kid who lived in the middle of nowhere, they’d have probably just told me where to catch the bus.

So at the end of 2008 I want to say that I appreciate each and every one of my readers. Funky Heart is free, and it’ll stay that way. Controlling a Congenital Heart Defect (CHD) is just too important. I have a heart defect… it does not have me!

Heart Warriors – my fellow survivors – you friends are my inspiration. I met so many of you in Philadelphia and other places, and I have yet to meet a single Heart Warrior who is bitter about their life. I’m sure there are a few, but the vast majority of us adapt, adjust, and overcome.

Heart Moms and Heart Dads, thank you, thank you, thank you for taking time to read the words that fall out of my brain. I hope I have helped you guys in some way, and hopefully I can continue to do so in the future. You were chosen to be the parent of a special child, a Cardiac Kid. You’ll need extra patience, a little extra understanding, a good feel for when to help and when to leave things alone, and a spine made of steel. Believe it or not, those qualities are already in you. When you need to find them, they’ll be there.

The final musical selection of 2008 is by Bette Midler from the movie For the Boys:  Every Road Leads Back to You.

With love and best wishes for 2009;

the Funky Heart

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

