Got the Blues!

I hate days like this!

I’ve got a bad case of the Mid-winter Blues… so bad, I think I could sit down and put together a good bluesy song in just a few minutes. It’s not hard – just tap your foot as you sing, and after every line take your harmonica and play Whaaw-Whawwww-a-Wha! B.B. King would be proud of that song!

I’m cold… the weather isn’t really that cold, but I am. It’s dark when my feet hit the floor, and it gets dark so early, it almost feels as if it’s night 24/7. Throw in some lousy weather lately, and it feels like the day is 40 hours long! This time of year tends to make me a bit snarly!

Don’t worry about looking up the word “snarly”, it doesn’t exist. It’s my own invention, when I am snarly I am in a foul mood, and I snarl at people if I don’t take a deep breath and think about what I’m about to say.

On the good side of things, my new Under Armour ColdGear shirt is working out pretty well, but I’m not wearing it today. I’ve been wearing it most of the time all week, and the Funky Heart’s shirt was beginning to smell a little funky itself. So it’s in the wash. The shirt can’t make you warm, but if you are warm before you go outside – or you have on a nice thick shirt above it – it will trap your body heat and keep your warm. I’ve become a fan!

And to make me even more snarly, my weight is creeping up. Christmas was a little too much fun around here, I hate to say. So I’ve got to buckle down and get back to walking. Which means getting out in the cold, and shivering, and getting snarly.

But I gotta. After all, my heart is functioning on a pacemaker, bubble gum, Elmer’s Glue, prayer, and a good dose of stubbornness. Anything I can do now to take care of myself pays off later.

Do you walk? Run? Work out at the local gym? Are you like me, when it’s disagreeable outside, do you have to talk yourself into your exercises? Heart Healthy or not, we’ve got to keep at it, my friend. Your body will hate you for a while when you begin a new routine… and hate you even more if you let yourself get behind.

So get off the couch and join me on my walk. I promise not to get snarly with you!

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Got the Blues!”

  1. Lilian Says:

    Just wanted to say hello from across the pond (UK), from a fellow CHD person (TGA & VSD). Snarly is a good word! You seem to manage to write a good-humoured post even when you’re feeling a bit down, which is very impressive! It made me smile, anyway. 🙂

Leave a Reply

