Forces Gather…

It has been a long and fruitful day for the Funky Heart. The good vibes began when I ate lunch in the Atlanta airport with a military chaplain and his wife. We did not know each other; I was the only person sitting at the table and 95% of the other tables were occupied. They introduced themselves and I introduced myself, and told them of our mission here in Washington. When we said our goodbyes, CHD survivors had two more friends in our corner, cheering us on.

I met Kelly, one of our readers not long after arriving at the hotel. Kelly is a Heart Mom and is a Funky Heart reader, and decided to come to Lobby Day after reading of our plans to lobby Congress. She’s a class act all the way and, like most heart moms, tougher than nails. She saw an activity that could benefit her Cardiac Kid, and she made plans to participate, no matter that it was 500 miles from her home.

The attendees were taken to The Heart House, which is the offices of the American College of Cardiology. We spent about an hour listening to various presentations about the current of health care in general and Cardiac Care in particular. One of the issues presented was physician payment reform. We (the health care industry in general) need to work on better ways of paying for “a continuum of care” – providing care for a patient with a chronic illness throughout his/her lifetime; the coordination of care, properly “passing on” a patient from doctor to doctor when the patients needs change, and making sure that the second doctor has all the patients vital information available; and the general improvement of care.

On a sad note, Adult Congenital Heart Association (ACHA) President Amy Verstappen announced that the ACHA’s oldest member had recently passed away at the age of 83. 83! With Good care, Persons with Heart Defects CAN live long, fruitful lives!

I do not know what tomorrow will bring; I may have to Lobby more than I intended to. Since we have so many who have not lobbied before (there were 100+ at the Heart House; I hope to have a more firm number tomorrow) it seems that the plan is to match up “Rookies” with those of us who have lobbied before. Whatever happens, I will report, even if I am not able to live blog as much as I wanted.

I also have at least two formal interviews set up and possibly more as the opportunity presents itself. It’s going to be a good day.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Forces Gather…”

  1. Katie Says:

    Good luck! Can’t wait to hear how the lobbying goes. I’m so interested in this process and wish everyone the best in DC!!!!

  2. Kim Says:

    I’m sorry I missed it!! I’ll be watching for updates all day…

  3. Kerri Pennington Says:

    Go get ’em! Those of us who cannot be there with you in person are with you in spirit! Thank you for representing us. I’m very proud to have you in my corner! Can’t wait to see updates! Good luck tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

