The Team

Cardiac Kids.

Heart Mom.

Heart Dad.

Heart Warrior.

Heart Heroes (our Cardiologists).

Fake it ’till you make it.

Heart Force One.

“I do what I do to defeat the evil that lives within me.”

And my pseudonym, The Funky Heart. (Who I see as a blend of THIS GUY and THAT GUY.)

Why do I use such colorful terms when I write about Congenital Heart Defects (CHDs)? Several reasons. First, the words “We think there is a problem with your child’s heart” unleashes a nightmare. A bad dream that never ends. And most likely, you’ve been thrown in the deep end of the pool and it is sink or swim…now. You need information and you need it fast. So you’re searching the Internet and you stumble across this site.

I feel that I can best serve you by giving you that information… in small chunks, so that you don’t get overwhelmed.  And I try to use humor to show you that this is not the end of the world. You are going to Walk a Difficult Path, and every one of your values are going to be tested. But a Heart Defect can be overcome. The strength is in you. If my humor can keep you coming back, day after day, hopefully you’ll come to see that you are a lot stronger than you think you are.

Also, I want you to feel like you are not alone. I’ve lived my entire life in small towns, where the specialized medical care is limited and no one else understood what my parents and I were going through.  We had to rely on yearly doctor visits to a hospital that was miles away.

I battle that “just us” feeling by giving titles: The children living with a CHD are the Cardiac Kids, and rather than feeling alone, they are part of an exclusive club! Not everyone gets to be a Cardiac Kid, so there must be something special about you! And our Heart Moms: tougher than nails, they never, ever give up. Heart Dads have the quiet strength; they realize that nothing they can do can protect their Cardiac Kid. So they choose a different path – rather than try to fix the problem themselves, they find someone who can fix a broken heart, and let them do their job. If you understand how fathers think, you realize how hard that is.

Now the Internet brings us all closer together.  We can all email, join message boards, and stay in touch so easy, one of our better friends may be someone we have never seen. And all someone in the CHD family has to do is say “Help!” and people start coming out of the woodwork. We’re on the case, we’ve got your back, and you better not mess with us.

Because when we stand together, we stand strong!

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “The Team”

  1. Katie Says:

    Great post and so true. Your site has been so helpful for me…I look forward to reading it every night and have learned so much from your posts. Thanks Steve for offering this support for all of us!

  2. Kelly Says:

    It’s not a club we ever wanted to be a part of…but since it had to be, I’m so glad you’re in it Stevo!!! Hope y’all are home from Atlanta.

  3. Lisa Says:

    As a two-time member of the club…..I’m so glad the Internet has brought the connections we all need. It is so much easier being in the club when you know there is a club out there!

Leave a Reply

