Complicated

I’m back, but still not fully participating yet. It’s one of those inconveniences of a Heart Defect, recovery time is always a bit longer. A cold, flu, or even mild food poisoning really throws you for a loop… and that is if you are healthy!

There are a lot of “ifs” and “buts” involved, too. For example, I’m on a diet designed to combat Congestive Heart Failure (CHF); one of the unbreakable guidelines is not to drink more than 2000 milliliters of liquid. BUT… I shouldn’t get dehydrated. So I am allowed to break that rule, gently. Drink as much as I need, but monitor myself for swelling. If I’m getting puffy, back off a bit.

Never, ever drink Gatorade or any other sports drink, because you don’t need all the salt and potassium they deliver. It’ll throw your system out of whack. BUT now that you are losing so much because of diarrhea, Gatorade is not only OK but is recommended. If you lose too many electrolytes without replacing them, you could start having skipped beats. I was asked which flavor of Gatorade I wanted and I didn’t even know that it was available in different flavors! The last time I drank Gatorade, all they had was the light green formula. And again, monitor your intake, because too much isn’t good for you.

I do have a good way to monitor my fluid/sodium intake, and I discovered it quite by accident. All I do is slide my MedicAlert bracelet until it is over the bone located behind my thumb, then turn it in a complete circle. If it moves easily, everything is cool. If not, I need to rein myself in. This works best when you don’t take the bracelet off – which I don’t do. I was in the ER once and the nurses insisted; it would interfere with an IV they planned to start. It took forever to get used to the new “setting” once I was able to put it back on!

Life gets complicated for someone with a Congenital Heart Defect at times, and it is the simplest things that make it complicated. But you can’t let it get to you. If you let every little thing ruin your plans, you’ll sit at home all day and the world will go on without you… and you’ll miss all the fun!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Complicated”

  1. Joselyn Says:

    On June is my mother passed away. She passed from Congestive Heart Failure. For months we (the family) did everything that we could to prolong her life. My brother and I meanly did everything that God placed in our hearts to do.

    I watched her slowly leave us, but I thank God that she never complain about any pain. There were times when she had good days and was showing such great progress. But them she would have her down days where she wouldn’t or couldn’t do anything. She had all day care from assigned nurses and family, and I thank God that she had us to see her through her transition period. We are still greiving over our lost but I am happy to know that she is now in the best of care, and that is Gods care. Love you Mom Forever.

Leave a Reply

