News of the Day

Blog Carnival: The Blog Carnival is on! If you wish to participate, please write a post on the subject “The gifts and challenges of a Congenital Heart Defect.” Post it on your blog and send me a link at Wildcat3@gmail.com. ! The final day for submissions is March 21, 2009.

There is positive movement on the Congenital Heart Futures Act! As you may remember, members of the Adult Congenital Heart Association (ACHA) and other CHD groups lobbied Congress for sponsors for the Act, and we may have some positive movement on the issue! However… I gave my word that I wouldn’t write anything until it was official, so I can’t tell you yet. But I will as soon as I can!

Light the fires and kick the tires! The Funky Heart is traveling again! The trip is still in the future (and in the planning stages) so right now I’ll just give you little hints: Horace Greeley told me what to do, and I’ll be in John’s old stomping grounds. If I get to see some baseball, perhaps I’ll get lucky and see some good pitching. I’d love to see a pitcher get ten strikeouts! Any guesses? (Some of you know, so your guess doesn’t count!)

Former First Lady Barbara Bush had Aortic Valve Replacement surgery today and at last report is doing well. President Bush (#41) had some snappy comments at the press conference today but nearly broke down when talking about the surgical team. Like him or loathe him, it’s easy to see that President Bush loves his First Lady.

Robin Williams will also need to have his Aortic Valve replaced. Best of luck to ya, Robin. May you bounce back quickly and make us all laugh again very soon!

We’ve talked before about USB- based Electronic Health Records (EHR), but it looks like they may be out the window. Some medical facilities have even blocked their computers’ USB ports, in an effort to prevent forgetful staff from accidentally plugging one into the system. Running around the hospital sticking little plastic plugs into every USB port you can find… I wonder if that pays well? *sigh* I’m so used to carrying my USB that I feel naked without it, but it looks like it is back to the drawing board.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “News of the Day”

  1. Kelly Says:

    I’m thinking you can invent the alternative to USB……start with an old fashioned sandwich board and two ropes to hold it over your shoulder.

Leave a Reply

