You’re looking for WHAT?!?!?!

I love reading the search terms listing on my blog statistics page. Search terms, if you aren’t familiar with them, are the words/phrases that you entered into a search engine that brought you to a website. For example, you go to Google and you type the phrase Battlestar Galactica, you get a listing of the sites that contain something about the science fiction TV show. Click on that link, and the site owner’s statistics page will show that someone used the search term Battlestar Galactica to get to his page.

No search terms for the Battlestar here, but we got others, some of them a lot more interesting. A new one that has popped up today is gornja suplja vena.

What’s that?!?! I certainly don’t know, so I google it. Gornja suplja vena is the Superior Vena Cava, one of the main blood vessels leading to the heart. Google says the term is Portuguese, but it refuses to translate it, and the webpage appears to be written in Cryllic, so I don’t know.

A lot of search requests lately are looking for information on the Congenital Heart Futures Act, which I am glad that we have plenty of. If we can get the act through Congress it will make a lot of difference in the lives of those of us living with a heart defect, so I am glad to see so many people looking for it.

Vivian Thomas is the most popular search subject by far, followed closely by adventures of a funky heart. There are a lot of  variations of the blog title, and there is one small group of people (or it might be one person who is a bit forgetful) who searches for my funky heart. You can call me what ever you wish, just don’t call me late for dinner!

Then there is the lone search request for heart surgery under a bridge. Not the most sanitary place to have surgery, I imagine.

Helen Taussig draws a few search requests, as you may imagine. I certainly discuss her a lot. Deaf and dumb surgeon has been entered as a search term three times, and probably brought them here because I have written about Dr. Taussig’s hearing loss. (For the record, Taussig was an adult when her hearing began to fade, so her vocal skills were intact. I have read news clips and reports of her speaking to conferences on several occasions.)

Alfred Blalock draws the least amount of attention of the three people involved in the Blalock-Taussig Shunt. I found that surprising; after all, he actually performed the surgery. Only when you add all the search requests  for the movie Something the Lord Made does Dr. Blalock (barely) outrank Helen Taussig.Yet there was one VERY unusual search request: Alan Rickman naked.

Umm…… not here!  We’ve got a photo of Alan Rickman fully dressed; if you want more you can use your imagination!

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “You’re looking for WHAT?!?!?!”

  1. Agnès Says:

    It´s not portuguese. Superior vena cava is veia cava superior. Quite close to english because in both languages it derives from latin.

    • Steve Says:

      Google’s translator tells me it is Portuguese, but it won’t translate the web page. Do you know what language it is? I’d love to know!

  2. Agnès Says:

    I don’t know which language it is, but since I am portuguese I can assure it isn’t portuguese. For the amount of consonants I would say some eastern europeuan language but they are too many.

Leave a Reply

