The Beat goes on! (The answers)

I ran this post two days ago just for fun, including the names of several 1980’s pop hits and a Battlestar Galactica reference. Here it is again, with the answers highlighted. Read until the end for the BSG reference and a couple of notes.

I was born with Tricuspid Atresia, a complex heart defect. It’s one of the rare ones – statistics say that 1 in every 10,000 live births have Tricuspid Atresia. My whole life, I’ve been livin’ on a prayer. (Performed by Bon Jovi)

We still don’t know exactly what causes heart defects – genetics and environment are the leading suspects, but we just don’t know. Some folks say hard living is the culprit, but that’s not true. My mom has always been a straight arrow; yet I was born with a heart problem. Other women abuse their bodies terribly and have perfectly normal children. I guess no one is to blame. (Howard Jones)

I found the courage to ask my doctor how long she thought I would live. She said “I just don’t know. There’s no clock of the heart, (Culture Club) and we’re beyond the red line as it is. But you are doing good, healthy, and active. You’re tough enough (The Fabulous Thunderbirds) to be around for a while.”

“So what can I do to stay around?” I asked.

She told me to exercise – and not just that. “Find something that’s gonna make you sweat. (C and C Music Factory) Push it! (Salt N Pepa) And get involved! Doing something to help others releases all kinds of good chemicals into your body. You have got a terrific life story; share it every chance you get. Don’t take money for nothing, (Dire Straits) just do it because it is the right thing to do. Live to tell (Madonna) others that heart defects can be beat! Don’t let those sick kids give up – get up on a stage somewhere and tell them to never surrender. (Corey Hart) Make sure that they know that they haven’t reached the end of the line.” (The Traveling Wilburys)

Wow! I thought I just had a doctor, didn’t know she was also a philosopher! But she was right; I did have too much time on my hands. (Styx) My job at the museum had fallen through and I was sitting on the couch, twiddling my thumbs. That was one of the seeds that led to Adventures of a  Funky Heart. I started posting in late July 2008, and the blog languished until the first of October, when my interview of Amy Verstappen was posted. I advertised it with friends and CHD parents that I knew (all four of them!), but that interview just hit. Checking my blog stats that day was enough to take my breath away. (Berlin)

And we’ve been full speed ahead ever since. That’s how we roll around here, and that’s just the way it is! (Bruce Hornsby)

*   A friend of mine says there was song named “Hard Living”, performed by Keith Whitley. I have never heard that song, so if you guessed that one, give yourself bonus points!*

* “Clock of the Heart” is an alternate title for the Culture Club hit “Time”. The lyric appears very prominently in the chorus. Award yourself a bonus point if you feel like I cheated.

*  The Fabulous Thunderbirds spell the title of their song “Tuff Enuff”. I did cheat a little to make it fit. Give yourself an extra point if you found it anyway.

* The same friend who knew the Keith Whitley song also says that “Gonna Make You Sweat” was released in 1991. Somebody better tell XM Radio; it’s on their 80’s channel all the time!

* The Battlestar Galactica reference is the phrase “beyond the red line.” In the Sci-Fi Network’s version of Battlestar Galactica, the red line is the the limit of explored space.

I hope you enjoyed this little bit of fun!

One Response to “The Beat goes on! (The answers)”

  1. carolyn compton Says:

    loved it!

Leave a Reply

