Why We Fight

There’s no doubt about it, I’m blessed. Other than my hernia (Which has not hurt very much in the last week, thankfully!) I am in pretty good health. I can come and go as I please. I walk every morning, do my exercises, walk my steps and generally try to keep myself going.

Others are not as lucky as I am, through no fault of their own. Paul Cardall has Tricuspid Atresia, the same defect I have. I’m active, Paul is on oxygen and on the list for a heart transplant. But we could easily share the same fate. (If you’re looking for good music, check out Paul. Not only is he a fellow Heart Warrior, he is an awesome pianist!)

Elyana Twiggs describes her heart surgery in an article for The Daily Michigan; she was 15 years old at the time. She was like any child in that situation – scared to death and in great pain.

And then there are little guys like Colby, nine months old and already a member of the “Zipper Club”. And Lucas, the newest member of our blogroll. His first ride wasn’t in dad’s car heading for home, it was  in a helicopter going hell for leather to a hospital.

Paul and Elyana, Lucas and Colby. That’s why we fight; that’s why I’m heading to Colorado to participate in the Bolder Boulder with other members of the Adult Congenital Heart Association.

To stand up for those who can’t.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Why We Fight”

  1. Gina Dyke Says:

    Wow, you are a popular guy, way out here in Cali! I have been following P. Cardell’s Blog for awhile, and yours for even longer. You three “guys” have the same defect, but Casey is only 4.
    And, welcome to Lucas, who also shares tricuspid atresia! Lucas actually lives a few minutes away from us! Small, yet big heart world out there….

  2. Jesse Smith Says:

    What a great post … again, THANK YOU for the work you are doing!!!

    Jesse

Leave a Reply

