I’ll be seeing you

Written at 10:02 AM:

I don’t like to say goodbye.

I usually don’t, especially to my friends who also have heart defects. Things can happen suddenly, and it is possible that my “goodbye” could be a permanent thing. Since starting Adventures of a Funky Heart! I’ve come to realize just how close most of us have come to shuffling off this mortal coil. And at times the danger is still there, lurking.

I wear my heart on my sleeve; I’m sitting in a shuttle bus heading towards the Denver airport trying not to crack up in front of my fellow passengers. It’s difficult, because when I think of some of the things my friends have overcome, I want to scream THAT’S JUST NOT FAIR! No one, friend or foe, should have to endure the things we put up with. If you are a regular reader of this blog you know of the various procedures and surgeries I have had. Some of them hurt. But nothing hurts like the pain of seeing your healthy friends do things and knowing that you have to say “I can’t.” That, in a nutshell, is the reason I came – to get rid of those two words.

But as I leave, I’m taking a camera full of photographs and wonderful memories. I saw my friend Heather Magee; she flew in for the event and seems to be doing well. A friend who is 60+ years old and had her first operation in the late 1940’s. She went in for a procedure just two years ago, came through with flying colors and said it was “just a tune up.” She walked the entire Bolder Boulder course! A doctor who has fought both his heart defect and cancer, and won. A young lady with Hypoplastic Left Heart Syndrome (HLHS) who is in her early 20’s. And my “boss”, the organizer of the ACHA Bolder Boulder team. I can’t – and I won’t – forget these people.

I do not like to say goodbye, but I must leave Boulder and these wonderful friends. I’m a long way from home; and it is always possible that my travels may never bring me back here. But I’m taking your spirit, your never give up attitude, and your friendship home with me.You have my friendship in return.

And I’ll see each of you somewhere down the road, hopefully soon.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

