Be Warned!

Hey, you.

Yeah, you, heart defect. Listen up.

I don’t know why you chose me, but you’re gonna wish you didn’t. I’ve been fighting you for a while now, and while you may not realize it, I have been paying attention. It’s not going to be as easy for you as it once was, because I’m tired of this. From now on we’re playing by my rules.

I am not someone that you want to tangle with. You see, I’m not your run of the mill, “woe is me!” sick kid. I take care of myself. I learned how my heart is supposed to work, how it really works, and how you affect it. I read the medical literature. Yes, it’s difficult, but I’ve been working on it and IĀ  understand most of it now.

I found myself a good cardiologist. And I’ve not only got him, I’ve got his partner and his nurses and a whole hospital on my side too.Ā  And whenever you and I tangle, I’m bringing them with me. So if you want to fight, I’m locked and loaded.

I’m not passive, I’m an intelligent, engaged, active patient. I do more than nod politely and fill my prescriptions. I ask questions, I explore options, I follow up on important things.

I am your worst nightmare.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Be Warned!”

  1. Jen, Gracie's mom Says:

    Ha! I love this post. This is one to hang up on the fridge šŸ™‚

  2. Lisa Says:

    LOL

    I love this!

  3. Karen Says:

    Love this one! I’m saving it for my 5-year-old son so he can read it when he gets older and understands. šŸ™‚

    KTC

Leave a Reply

