Friends are Friends Forever

… our hearts in big and small ways
Will keep the love that keeps us strong

Friends are friends forever, Michael W. Smith

It has been a bummer of a birthday! This ol’ Funky Heart turned 43 today, but it hasn’t been any fun because of what is going on with my Grandmother. (Update: Nothing has changed; she’s still with us but there is very little brain activity)

But when I got home today and checked my email, there were 20+ messages containing birthday wishes – from Funky Heart! readers and from my friends in the Adult Congenital Heart Association (ACHA)! That really cheered me up – as I wrote to a friend, it was the perfect gift!

Thank you so much;

5 Responses to “Friends are Friends Forever”

  1. Lisa@ All That and a Box of Rocks Says:

    I’m a little late, but Happy Birthday! I’m so sorry about your grandmother. Here’s a tidbit for ya….this was the day I was ‘supposed’ to be born, but I came in as a tiny preemie six weeks early. (And a year before you!)

    Take care~
    Lisa

  2. katedaphne Says:

    Happy birthday! xo

    I am so sorry about your grandmother. You and your family will be in my heart.

    –Kate, Madeleine and Annabelle

  3. Casey's Mom Says:

    I am so sorry you have to deal with such a hard situation, let alone during your birthday. Please remember that your birthday is not only a celebration, but an amazing accomplishment and true inspiration to every family of a “heart child”, particularly those of us who have kiddos with the same defect as yours. You are AMAZING!!! Happy Birthday!!

  4. Christina Says:

    Happy Birthday Steve!

    Hugs & Prayers,
    Christina
    Jacob’s Momma

  5. Jen Says:

    Happy Birthday Steve!

    So sorry about your grandmother.

    From an avid reader and a mom to a son with CHD (age 2)

Leave a Reply

