Introducing Helen Taussig, M.D.

If you’ve checked out the ABOUT THE AUTHOR page in the blogroll, you’ll see that I construct my own action figures. I’m not that skilled – don’t imagine me actually pouring a mold, letting it cool, and then assembling the parts into a body. What I do is take an existing figure and through the use of new clothes and small alterations, I make that figure into a new action figure.

Here’s an 11 inch tall figure of Dr. Helen Taussig that I created for an Adult Congenital Heart Association silent auction in 2008. I invested about $40 in the base figure, clothes, and accessories; she sold for $100! I’d love to make another one, but I haven’t been able to find that base figure since. I think it has been discontinued. It may be for the best – there was only one Helen Taussig!

Question: I usually try to be as accurate as possible, but I intentionally created an error on the Taussig figure. Can you spot it? (Answer below the photographs)

Photobucket

Photobucket

Answer: The Taussig doll has her hearing aid in the wrong ear. The figure’s hairstyle naturally exposes her left ear, which would make the hearing aid placement more visable. The real Dr. Taussig wore her hearing aid in her right ear.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Introducing Helen Taussig, M.D.”

  1. Nicole Says:

    So is there a prize for a correct guess? I knew the intentional error – YAY!! 🙂 Sad, it is probably the best thing that will happen to me all day.

  2. Lisa@ All That and a Box of Rocks Says:

    Steve,
    This is so COOL! I did read that blurb in your about me a long time ago but I thought it was, I don’t know? A metaphor or something? LOL I remember thinking that I was sure I understood. Duh…. So funny!

    Great job on Helen Taussig. Eli’s birth hospital discharge papers have him listed as a ‘Taussig-Bing (DORV), but his PC didn’t agree. That’s a bit of Eli trivia for you today. ;o)

Leave a Reply

