Coming soon

On October 25, Funky Heart will show the world his scars!

Am I proud of my scars? I don’t know if that is the correct word; I don’t have a problem with them. I don’t run around saying “You wanna see my scar?” but I don’t cringe around mirrors and seeing them does not bring up dark memories. Those wounds helped make me who I am – and they are proof that while I have taken a few blows, I’ve always been able to hang in there and fight back.

And since they don’t bother me, they really shouldn’t bother you. Don’t be afraid to ask me what those are, I’m not going to bite your head off (unless you act like a jerk!) And be prepared to sit and visit for a while – once I start talking about heart defects and survivors, I can be hard to stop!

Why October 25? If you read Shakespeare, you’ll know… October 25 is St. Crispin’s Day!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Coming soon”

  1. Lisa@ All That and a Box of Rocks Says:

    Well, that’s interesting…. The St. Crispin’s day stuff. (har har, j/k)

    Good for you. Those scars tell a story that the whole world needs to hear!

    By the way, that’s the day before my oldest CHD boy’s birthday. On the 26th, we’ll celebrate the 17th anniversary of his birth.

  2. Twitter Trackbacks for Coming soon « Adventures of a Funky Heart! [tricuspid.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com Says:

    […] Coming soon « Adventures of a Funky Heart! tricuspid.wordpress.com/2009/10/05/coming-soon – view page – cached Am I proud of my scars? I don’t know if that is the correct word; I don’t have a problem with them. I don’t run around saying “You wanna see my scar?” but I don’t cringe around mirrors… (Read more)Am I proud of my scars? I don’t know if that is the correct word; I don’t have a problem with them. I don’t run around saying “You wanna see my scar?” but I don’t cringe around mirrors and seeing them does not bring up dark memories. Those wounds helped make me who I am – and they are proof that while I have taken a few blows, I’ve always been able to hang in there and fight back. (Read less) — From the page […]

  3. Nicole Says:

    At least all know you are male, so they do not rush your sight to get their jollies! : ) You are positively right, our scars are our lifelines, and we would otherwise not be here. I’d be happy to join you in the “Show Your Scars America,” Campaign (I just had an idea – we’ll talk off line); but sadly, I am female, and this is the internet! 😉

    Show those scars, Steve! I bet mine are uglier than yours! ha ha!

Leave a Reply

