On the Trail

Steve be hurtin’.

I keep a chart of my walking, and right now it’s pretty embarrassing – I walked three days in September. That’s it. First we had a couple of days when the weather just was too nasty to get outside, then my grandmother fell. Hitting her head put her in the hospital for a week before she passed away, and then my hernia acted up.

And I know what did it, too. We stood in the receiving line before my grandmother’s funeral for three hours – and I think that is what triggered it. My niece was brave enough to go to the viewing but not the funeral, so when she was ready to go, my brother gave me a wave and made the “telephone” sign with his hand. I nodded and walked her outside to call home for someone to come and get her, and I swear that I couldn’t move my feet for a few steps, I had been standing that long!

And the hernia just didn’t get mad at me, it was in a full blown rage – it has hurt every day from September 10 until yesterday! Walk? I was glad to be able to hobble to the bathroom at times!

But yesterday it didn’t hurt – what’s wrong down there? – and today it has been well behaved also. So today, gingerly, I got outside and walked. My watch said that I walked 15 minutes and my pedometer records that I walked 1,637 steps. That’s about half a mile. Not much.

But I sure feel it. I’m “wore out”, as we say here in the South, because all of my stamina has trickled away during my month of inactivity.Today was my first day back, and it really took it out of me.

But if you want to stay healthy, you have to stay active. This is especially true when you have a Congenital Heart Defect (CHD), so I did a little bit of walking today. I had a feeling the rest of the day was going to be spent nursing little aches and pains, but I was out there anyway. Because for a while there my world was limited almost exclusively to either my bed or the couch, and that was not very appealing at all. And when I did go somewhere, it wasn’t very long before I was out of gas and just couldn’t go any further. I’m still not 100% certain what I’m supposed to do with my life, but holding down a couch probably isn’t it.

So I’ll be back out there again tomorrow, and I’ll probably be hurtin’ again tomorrow evening. But walking is a major part of my exercise routine, and I do what I do to defeat the evil that lives within me.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

