Swine Flu Update: October 10

The H1N1 Swine Flu Vaccine is starting to be distributed nationwide, and just in time, it seems. Pregnant women have been hit especially hard by this bug and they are one of the priority groups that the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) recommends receive the vaccine as soon as possible. Children are also being hit hard – 19 have died this week.

Do you have the Swine Flu? Microsoft and Emory University have teamed up to create an online Flu Quiz – answer a series of questions, and your computer will compare your answers to a list of known symptoms and then inform you of the possibility that you have the flu. I answered the questions last night and the computerized doctor told me I was OK! But if someone in your home does have the Flu, here is the CDC’s informational guide for taking care of them while hopefully avoiding catching it yourself.  (If you live with someone who has the Flu and you are in a high risk group, you need to stay six feet away from the patient. Sounds like a good time to hire a Home Health Nurse.)

There have been questions raised about the safety of the vaccine, and here is the CDC’s web page addressing those issues. Also, there has been no link shown between vaccine and Autism. There was a research report from England published 10 years ago that seemingly linked the Mumps, Measles, and Rubella (MMR) vaccine with increased occurrences of Autism; but further research call those results into question. Most of the authors of that original research have since said that their research didn’t seem to hold up.

I can’t speak for anyone else, but I have taken the vaccinations that have been recommended to me over the years, and there have been no side effects other than occasional soreness at the injection site. And with my heart defect, I feel that I would have been more suceptable to any adverse reaction.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Swine Flu Update: October 10”

  1. Twitter Trackbacks for Swine Flu Update: October 10 « Adventures of a Funky Heart! [tricuspid.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com Says:

    […] Swine Flu Update: October 10 « Adventures of a Funky Heart! tricuspid.wordpress.com/2009/10/09/swine-flu-update-october-10 – view page – cached The H1N1 Swine Flu Vaccine is starting to be distributed nationwide, and just in time, it seems. Pregnant women have been hit especially hard by this bug and they are one of the priority groups that… (Read more)The H1N1 Swine Flu Vaccine is starting to be distributed nationwide, and just in time, it seems. Pregnant women have been hit especially hard by this bug and they are one of the priority groups that the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) recommends receive the vaccine as soon as possible. Children are also being hit hard – 19 have died this week. (Read less) — From the page […]

  2. Jan Curtis Says:

    i am very interested in swine flu and what is happening in the UK.
    I have just come off the medication for Avian TB, something rare in humans, I have been on the medication for 3 and a half years, and now the disease is dormant.
    However I am practically under house arrest because of the danger of swine flu, I cannot go into public places, public transport is a no no, any situation where a lot of people are gathered is also out of bounds.
    I have to, for my own sake ,follow the rules until spring ,when the scare will be over.
    I am fortunate in that I don’t really mind the rules, I love the countryside and can spend my time there, others may find it very hard though.
    There is a very high risk for people like me.
    I wonder why the UK media has gone so quiet on this issue, perhaps to prevent panic.

  3. Bob Says:

    I also, am a high risk candidate, being diabetic, but at no stage have I believed the hype surrounding swine flu, and the alleged “safe” vaccines being punted around the globe. There are too many unanswered questions to define the truth of the situation we all find ourselves in, namely, why has one large drug company applied for the patent to a swine flu vaccine a whole year before the Mexico outbreak? Why are all the drug companies using adjuvants in their vaccines known to be unsafe and with previous history of causing irreversible health problems? The answer, of course, in all cases has to be big bucks. Average profits from drug manufacture are around 4 billion per annum. This outbreak promises to boost profits to the tune of 17-24 billion dollars, so no coconut then?

    • Steve Says:

      >>…why has one large drug company applied for the patent to a swine flu vaccine a whole year before the Mexico outbreak?<<

      From what I understand, H1N1 (in general) has been around for quite a while – this variation is new.

      >>Why are all the drug companies using adjuvants in their vaccines known to be unsafe and with previous history of causing irreversible health problems?<>This outbreak promises to boost profits to the tune of 17-24 billion dollars, so no coconut then?<<

      Gotta disagree with you on this one, Bob. Personally, I feel like I NEED the shot, and I plan to get it. I really think that you should think about it, also. (And honestly, I don't know a thing about coconuts!)

    • marisa Says:

      I am not sure where you are from, but there are NO ADJUVANTS in the vaccines for the US. Look it up. Hopefully you are from the states.

Leave a Reply

