“At Night I’m a Junk Food Junkie…”

I have to go to the doctor’s office today to have my Prothrombin level checked, and I have a feeling that I’m going to be changing the amount of blood thinner I take. But overall, I think it is a good thing.

When you give the blood sample to have your anticoagulation level checked – a measure of the ability of your blood to clot – the results are your INR level. INR stands for International Normalized Ratio. At one time, there were many different systems and math formulas used to check anticoagulation, and lots of different results: This testing service may give you a result of 1.4, another might give a result of 73. It was too difficult to figure out if the systems were compatible, so finally the World Health Organization stepped in. A standardized system was determined along with a standard scoring system (the INR level). So now a reading of 2.6 means exactly the same thing, no matter if you have you test done in rural Virgina or downtown Toronto.

The rate at which your blood clots can depend on a lot of different factors: the availability of Vitamin K or Potassium are two of them. So when you start your anticoagulation therapy, they tell you to watch your intake of both and above all, be consistent.

I’ve been breaking that rule. Whoops!

All my life I have been a “Junk Fook Junkie”! That changed when I went on the low salt diet for Heart Failure, but I still ate poorly (Nutrition wise – it all tastes pretty good!) . I’ve recently decided that while I probably can’t just change completely, I can at least improve my diet.

So it’s been a bunch of little steps – and I’m a fan of the Eat This! Not That! series of books. They occasionally bump into my Low Sodium restrictions, and when that happens, the heart wins. Don’t take them as gospel, but rather as a guideline, and you’ll make better decisions. There are some Rules for Eating Well online at Everything Health that also make a lot of sense:

  • If you aren’t hungry enough to eat an apple, then you aren’t hungry!
  • Avoid snack food with the “OH!” sound (Doritos, Fritos, Cheetos…).
  • It’s easier to pay the grocer than the doctor.
  • Never eat something pretending to be something else (fake meat, fake butter, chocolate flavored drink…)
  • Make your own lunch whenever possible

But since I’m working on eating better, my diet is nowhere near consistent, and I have no clue how the Vitamin K and Potassium levels are doing. One thing you are told it “Try to eat about the same amount of green leafy vegetables that you usually do – big swings can mess up your INR.” Well I am not doing that, I am trying to increase the amount!

But they’ll just tell me to change the dosage of Warfarin that I take, and besides – you can’t really give a fellow a hard time for trying to take better care of himself, can you?

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

