DC Bound!

“I’ll be back.” – The Terminator (1984)

I thought that we had already fought this battle – CHDers have been to Washington DC to lobby for the Congenital Heart Futures Act earlier this year, 250 of us. And in early March our efforts were rewarded by introduction of the Act into BOTH the Senate and the House on March 18, 2009. The Act was given an identifing number for both versions (The Senate version is known as S. 621 and the House bill is marked H.R. 1570.) We’ve even got some good sponsorship, the most prominent being Senator Richard Durbin, the Democrat from Illinois.

So I thought we had fought this battle.

“Just when I thought I was out, they pull me back in!” – The Godfather Part III (1990)

Looks like I was wrong – the Congenital Heart Futures Act is stuck in Committee. It has happened to a lot of bills; National Healthcare Reform has dominated this session of Congress and it seems that everything else has to wait its turn.

So we’re going back to DC, to lobby for the Congenital Heart Futures Act again. And hopefully this time we can get it moving. Lobby Day 2010 is set for April 22, and I’m hopeful that you will make plans to join us in DC.

We need every voice to speak out – not only for the current generation of Congenital Heart Defect Survivors, but for the generations yet to come. And if you can’t come yourself, please consider writing a letter of support for the Act. Every little bit helps!

The Funky Heart plans to be there, once again liveblogging the event and keeping you informed of what’s going on. You can’t just say that you are working against CHDs, you have to get in the fight, put your feet on the ground and be willing to do the grunt work.

We’ll be right there in the middle of it!

“I’m on my way!” – Dick Tracy (1990)


Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “DC Bound!”

  1. Tweets that mention DC Bound! « Adventures of a Funky Heart! -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Steve, Amy Basken. Amy Basken said: See you there! RT @funkyheart is DC bound in April, Lobbying for #CHD Legislation! http://tinyurl.com/yfyabws […]

  2. Sarah Says:

    Thanks for the heads up, I will be marking my calendar!

  3. Lisa Says:

    Marking my calendar too. I will be following your liveblogging broadcast.

Leave a Reply

