For Jim

A true friend is gone.

Jim Wong, who I highlighted on this blog way back in August of 2008, lost his battle with Thyroid Cancer Saturday (February 6, 2010) about 6:00 PM Eastern Time.

Jim was the Moderator of the Adult Congenital Heart Association‘s (ACHA) message board; he helped select me as the second Moderator and got me up to speed on how things worked. Not just on the message board, but how hearts worked, how Congenital Heart Defects (CHDs) work, and even a little about how life works. And even before that, he was one of the first people I physically met after joining the ACHA in 2006.

If you didn’t know him, he could be intimidating. He was Jim, but his official title was James Wong, PhD. And you wouldn’t think that a PhD would have much patience, or suffer fools gladly, but we got along well. I think I’m the biggest fool to ever come down the pipe – I like to laugh, and cut up, and enjoy life.

PhD’s are supposed to be so serious. But Jim took it all in stride; he was a rock – for me and for a lot of other people. I think that no matter what he did or where he went, down deep he realized he was just someone looking for answers. And when he found them, he wouldn’t hesitate to share with the rest of the CHD community.

Jim’s friends will be glad to hear that his heart hung in there until the end. Let the record show that Jim Wong, PhD, never lost his battle with his heart defect.

I’m still looking forward to going to Florida and speaking at the Regional CHD Forum; it’s going to be a wonderful trip. But right now I’m taking a moment to remember a friend.

Rest in Peace, Jim.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “For Jim”

  1. Sarah Says:

    I am so sorry to read this, praying for his family and all he impacted.

  2. Lisa Butler Says:

    Steve,

    I’m sure Jim is just as proud of you as you are of him! A true friend with wonderful words about his friend. His heart put up a good fight it sounds against the cancer….my thoughts and prayers are with his family and with you.

    Lisa Butler
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Lydia’s Mom-Tricuspid Atresia

  3. No greater love « Adventures of a Funky Heart! Says:

    […] My friend Jim could have used one of those new scanners. Jim was 54 years old; he was from an older generation of survivors. Back in those days when CHD kids were few and far between and hardly anything was known about heart defects, doctors would X-ray and scan a CHD heart from every possible angle. […]

  4. Overheard at Lobby Day « Adventures of a Funky Heart! Says:

    […] cut a photo of Jim Wong out of the newsletter and put it in my wallet. Where ever I go tomorrow, he’s going with […]

  5. The Funky Heart’s Rules « Adventures of a Funky Heart! Says:

    […] just hang on. You’re going to get through this. And while I do discuss death when necessary (Jim Wong, Eliza Huff, and Gracie)  I don’t dwell on bad outcomes. Especially in a crisis, […]

  6. Second Hand Heroes « Adventures of a Funky Heart! Says:

    […] Jim Wong died of cancer earlier this year, perhaps as a result of all those x-rays. I like to think he died the way he lived – helping others learn about defective hearts. […]

Leave a Reply

