The ACC… and Philadelphia!

No, not the Atlantic Coast Conference! (In that ACC’s Men’s Basketball Tournament, today’s championship game will feature Duke vs. Georgia Tech – a pretty good matchup!) I’m talking about ACC10, the American College of Cardiology’s annual scientific session being held in Atlanta, Georgia.  Atlanta’s not far away and I hoped to be able to actually attend it myself, but neither time nor money are on my side. But I have a couple of friends down there, and I’m keeping an eye on the Congenital Cardiology presentations. If there is anything that looks interesting I’ll pass it along. You can follow along yourself by searching for the #ACC10 hashtag on Twitter!

Also everything has fallen into place and I am off to Philadelphia in April! There aren’t any public appearances scheduled – I’m going the main office of the Adult Congenital Heart Association to help prepare for Lobby Day 2010; then take the train down to DC to actually be a part of Lobby Day myself!

My plan is to liveblog Lobby Day, just like I did last year. There is still time for you to be involved – click the Lobby Day 2010 link for information on registration and the host hotel!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “The ACC… and Philadelphia!”

  1. Wendy Says:

    Hi Steve
    I wanted to share this article with you: http://thespec.com/News/Local/article/735999

    This is my hometown. A bunch of us heart moms who live in Ontario are going to be writing letters to our government and the paper – we’re pretty upset that with all that space and all that money there’s not one tiny corner allocated to congenital heart defects, it’s all for acquired heart disease.

    I was wondering what your thoughts are?
    Wendy

    • Steve Says:

      *sigh* It’s a fact of life – more research effort and money goes to “grown up” heart problems than it does to Congenital issues. Now there is research being done – click any of the RESEARCH links in my blogroll – but there is more on the adult side. CHDers have an “invisible disability” so we’re overlooked, and some of it has to do with economics: The people who have adult heart problems are almost always adults, obviously, and they have had time to acquire some resources. The odds are better that a grateful adult patient will be able to make a sizable contribution to the hospital that helped him. The Cardiac Kids aren’t going to be giving large amounts of money, and their parents are just starting out in life. Every penny counts there, too.

      Your plan is just about all you can do: Raise awareness. And if/when you do find a facility that offers good Congenital Care, SUPPORT THEM! Go there as a patient, hold fundraisers, and basically be a walking billboard for them.

Leave a Reply

