Change of Heart

“You can  settle for less – an ordinary life – or do you feel that you were meant for something better? Something special?”

I used to have a T-shirt that read “Change of Heart at UAB”. UAB is the University of Alabama at Birmingham, and in the late 1970’s it was THE place for Cardiac surgery in the Southeast. After my second heart surgery the staff expected you to get up and get around, and one day my “travels” took me into the hospital gift shop, where I bought my shirt. My dad contended that had to be the most expensive shirt I had ever bought (Buy a T-shirt, get a FREE Heart Operation!) but I was proud of it.

But right now, I’m going to send you on a trip. You’ll be visiting my friend Sharon, who is going to tell you the story of an event that happened last year – one year ago exactly, March 26, 2009.

“Pack a suitcase for 3 days and get here as soon as possible,” he said. I started to cry and scream all at the same time. “You’re kidding? Thank G-d!!! We have it! You’re getting the heart!!!” I still get tears when I think of this moment.

You’ve guessed it – you are going to ride along with Sharon as her husband gets a desperately needed heart transplant. You won’t find the entire story – Sharon says she was in tears as she wrote it and had to take a break. But you will see the next part when she posts it.

And I bet you’ll be in tears, also.

But for right now, GO! I told Sharon that she’s have some company today!

Click here to read Sharon and Anthony’s story!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

