We’re going hopping…down Philadelphia way!

Live from Studio B of WFIL-TV, located in the heart of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, this is American Bandstand!”  – 3:30 PM August 5, 1957

The schedule is set! I’ll be in Philadelphia April 19-21, helping the Adult Congenital Heart Association (ACHA) prepare for Lobby Day 2010. I won’t be speaking while in Philadelphia – this will mainly be “behind the scenes” work, setting up the meetings between our attendees and the members of Congress. No liveblogging is scheduled either, but I am planning to post regularly.

Then on April 21 we’ll start the day in Philadelphia, but we’ll ride the train down to Union Station in Washington DC. And Lobby Day is set for Thursday, April 22.  Feel free to surf to Adventures of a Funky Heart! on April 22 and look over my shoulder, so to speak!

The recently passed healthcare bill (known as The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act) contains some exciting provisions for those of us with Congenital Heart Defects (CHDs). The law creates a Congenital Heart Defect Surveillance System – the CHD Registry that ACHA campaigned for at Lobby Day 2007 – to be maintained by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC). It will also give the Director of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) the authority to “expand, intensify, and coordinate research and related activities of the Institute with respect to congenital heart disease…”

But there is a catch – the programs are authorized, but not funded. So we’ll be heading to Capitol Hill to convince our elected officials to supply the funds. So keep us in your thoughts – this will affect every Congenital Heart Defect (CHD) patient, not just adults. So call or write your Representative, and ask him or her to fund the Congenital Heart Disease provisions of The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act! (That’s Section 10411, Section 399-V2, and Section 425, should you be asked. )

This will be my third Lobby Day; I attended Lobby Day 2007 and 2009. In 2007 my Cardiologist and I teamed up to visit 12 different Senators and Representatives, all from the Carolinas and Georgia. In 2009 my hernia was acting up so I stayed at our HQ and blogged the event, you can read that account HERE. The blogging was fun and got our message out to the entire world, but I felt a little bit “out of the loop” so I think I am going to try to blog and lobby this year. You may have a “Guest Blogger” for an hour or so while I lobby my Congressman, but I think I have a workable plan. And don’t worry – I’ll leave you in good hands! If I have to use a Guest Blogger I’ll get a Champ, not a chump!

I will also have a small video camera with me! I’m not going to promise anything – you know how electronic gremlins like to crash this type of event – but I hope to get several short interviews during this upcoming week!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

