Overheard at Lobby Day

This is a selection of phrases, sayings, quotes, and general conversations I overheard at the Lobby Day activities in Washington DC. “Lobby Day” is a bit of a misnomer, as events began Wednesday night and didn’t conclude until Saturday evening. (Since I wasn’t involved in the Saturday events I was not there.)

Sometimes I knew the person speaking, and sometimes I didn’t. But in either case, I have chosen to protect their privacy.

*

“I cut a photo of Jim Wong out of the newsletter and put it in my wallet. Where ever I go tomorrow, he’s going with me.”

*

“Did you ever think you’d be in a room full of people just like us?”

“No way. I didn’t even know anyone else with a heart defect until college.”

*

“The doctor told me `At my medical school, they taught us that people like you didn’t survive.’ I didn’t know what to say to that. A few moments later he asked `So, have you thought about the medical school you want to attend?’ I told him, `Not the one that you attended.'”

*

“One day people with heart defects will routinely live to be eighty, ninety, and even one hundred years old.”

*

“Don’t worry, it’s all going to fall into place tomorrow. We’ve got a good message. And if it doesn’t work, I’ll kick somebody in the knee.”

*

“Let’s win this for everyone who never had the chance to get here.”

*

(To US Capitol Police Officer:) “I have a pacemaker, I’d like a hand search rather than walk through the metal detector.”

“There seems to be an unusual number of people with pacemakers coming through today.”

*

Congressional Staffer: “Why aren’t there enough doctors trained to serve these adults with heart problems?”

Cardiologist: “Because twenty years ago, kids with heart defects usually didn’t live long enough to grow up.”

*

Cardiologist: “I told the Senator `Adults living with Congenital Heart Disease are receiving third world level care, right here in America. This law is the first step in doing something to fix that.'”

*

“Starting an Adult CHD Survellience System may sound strange, but it will help more in the end. We’ve already had the surgeries, taken the medications, and all that. If the people at CDC can gather data on us, analyze it, and figure out what works, and what doesn’t, it’ll save a lot of children from all the trial and error that we had to go through.”

*

“How far do you think you have walked today?”

“I don’t think my pedometer can count that high.”

*

“My feet are killing me. But I wouldn’t trade a moment of this for anything.”

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Overheard at Lobby Day”

  1. Paula Says:

    You forgot to say, “You’re amazing my friend” and that statement is directed to you, Funky Heart. Your messages are the most amazing and get the word out about CHD more than anyone one individual can!!

  2. Tammy Says:

    I am in complete agreement with Paula! I hope to one day have honor of meeting you!

Leave a Reply

