The 2010 Bolder Boulder

An open letter to my Funky Heart friends in Colorado:

Hello from South Carolina!

I was privileged to hang out with all of you for a few days in Boulder last year during the Bolder Boulder. I had a terrific time; your state is beautiful and each and every one of you made me feel welcome!

Ever since I boarded the plane to come home, I’ve been thinking about coming back.  But I won’t be able to this year: On the day of the race, we’ll be celebrating my father’s 75th birthday!

Now dad’s in pretty good shape – he walks five miles every morning and I’m convinced that once he got used to the thinner altitude, he would do quite well in the Bolder Boulder! And what better birthday present to give yourself than to conquer the nation’s highest altitude 10K road race? But much to my disappointment, he’s certain that the walking trail in our back yard is just as good a course as the one you have!

So while I won’t be there in person, I will be there in spirit. Best of luck to all the Funky Hearts in this year’s Bolder Boulder!

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “The 2010 Bolder Boulder”

  1. Victoria Nelson Says:

    Love the Bolder Boulder! My husband and I did it in 2006.
    Happy 75th to your Dad!
    Good for him to even walk the backyard trail – it will just be missing all the people dressed up in banana costumes and bridal gowns =)
    Sincerely,
    Victoria

  2. Eliza Says:

    This year’s fundraising event in conjunction with the Bolder Boulder – Thanks to the awsome new local organizer Carly! 🙂

    What: Feed for Speed – Dinner sponsored by Carrabba’s of Westminster
    When: May 30th – the day before the Bolder Boulder
    Where: Spring Hill Suites
    6845 W. 103rd Avenue
    Westminster, CO 80021

    Great chance to get together and raise a bunch of funds. Everyone is welcome including Friends and Family and anyone who is interested in supporting ACHA.

    Cost: Suggested Donation of $20
    (This is about how much you would pay at Carrabba’s for the meal.)

    Deadline: RSVP to dblay1@gmail.com by May 19th, but sooner is much better.

  3. Connie Says:

    I live in Larkspur. My friend from Houston is coming up to run the Bolder Boulder with me. It’s our 3rd one and it is the best 10k. Boulder is beautiful and the crowd is soooo much fun. Be here next year Steve!

  4. The 2010 Bolder Boulder : Today Topics Says:

    […] Heart Disease, Heart Dad, Heart Warrior. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own […]

Leave a Reply

