At Your Service

I’ve been writing Adventures of a Funky Heart! since July of 2008, and during that time I have had the honor of meeting numerous Cardiac Kids, Heart Warriors and Congenital Heart Defect (CHD) Families.

It has been my honor to share some of their stories with you. Hopefully I’ve been able to show you that you are not fighting your heart defect by yourself. No matter how good or poor your heart health may be or how dark the day looks, someone is in (or has been in) the same situation.  Draw strength from that knowledge; when I was growing up we hardly knew there were other people just like us out there. And without a convenient communications system like the Internet to bring us all together we all thought we were the only ones with this  problem.

And that makes beating your CHD so much harder.You need to know there are others out there going through the same thing that you are. And if you are a young parent, meeting an adult with a similar problem as your child’s may be just the boost you need to keep going.

If your CHD Support/Advocacy group is planning a weekend event – a symposium, a conference, an extended meeting – please keep me in mind. If your group wishes, I will be happy to come and speak at your event at no cost to the organizing group.

I have my laptop computer with me when I travel, and if there is an internet connection available I will “liveblog” the event, reporting on the speakers and their presentations. This will introduce your group to a worldwide audience. (If there is no internet connection I will take notes and report on the meeting that night.)

All I ask that you check the schedule first. I’m not wealthy, so I can’t afford to travel every weekend. My health is good and I am always looking forward to the next adventure, but sometimes the budget says “No!”

Also, remember that I am not a doctor and that I speak from my own experience. What works for me may not work for you, and I can’t (and won’t) diagnose you or give you medical advice.

If you wish to contact me – for a speaking engagement or just to drop me an email –  you can find my address in the About the Author link.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “At Your Service”

  1. Rhonda Lyle Says:

    I would so love to meet you one day! Thanks for all you do!

    Rhonda

  2. Gina Dyke Says:

    So cool to hear! Hopefully in the near future you can come out to California and speak to our support group Hearts of Hope!

Leave a Reply

