Let’s do it again!

“All this has happened before; and it will happen again.”Battlestar Galactica

I’ll give you three guesses to figure out what I have been doing today.

Today, I went to the doctor’s office to have blood drawn; I bought medication;  and I bought groceries. The groceries I don’t mind – we all have to eat, of course. But since I am on a blood thinning medication (Warfarin) I have to go in every so often and have my INR number checked. Warfarin is a delicate drug – it’s really rat poison – and it seems to be able to go up and down on its own. Tie your shoes, the number goes up. Cross your legs, it goes back down. It seems like anything can affect it.

So you must have your Prothrombin Time (PT) checked. The results are given as the INR Number (which stands for International Normalized Ratio.) If the INR falls within you Therapeutic Range, everything is good. If it doesn’t… your doctor is going to adjust your medication and you’ll have to have a retest, usually in two weeks. My INR number has been riding a rollercoaster lately, and I’m feeling like a pin cushion.

If you are lucky, you can do the test at home. You test your blood much as a diabetic would, only you are looking for the INR number, not a Blood Sugar level.  I haven’t been lucky – My hemoglobin is too high, and it makes the testing machine go crazy. So I have to drive 20 miles for the privilege of having a needle stuck in my arm.

My medications tend to make my head spin, too. I take 14 different medications a day, and if I could figure a way to get the same amount of pills for each prescription, I think I could figure a way to refill them all at once. But no – some of them are 30 day prescriptions; a couple are 60 day; and a few are 90 day prescriptions. I think I go to the Drug Store every two weeks! It’s not difficult (if you keep close track of when you need refill and prescription renewals) but is sure is inconvenient!

This probably sounds like a whine, and it very well could be – it seems that as soon as I get through one “cycle” of refills or blood draws, it’s time for another. And my heart problems aren’t going away, so I’ll be doing this forever. But doing these things are extremely important, and they allow me to live my life. I enjoy life – I just get frustrated at the repetition.

But it is an important part of not giving up. These drugs and the blood tests allow me to do things like go to Houston for Hearts Re-United 2010. I recently got a new laptop bag, and one of the things that was important to me was to get one that had plenty of room for medication. The old one didn’t, and trips longer than 4 days required some creative packing on my part. (NEVER pack your medication in your checked baggage if you are flying. If you go to Detroit and your bag goes to Dallas, you’re in trouble!)

So yes, I’ll whine a little about blood tests and prescription refills – but I’ll still do it. I’m having too much fun to let my bum heart win!

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Let’s do it again!”

  1. Carolyn Says:

    Hi Steve, alren’t pharmicists trained to make medications/ divide them up? can’t they divide them for you and sell them for you in 30 day kits? I reckon my bloke would if I needed him to. Maybe you have too many meds but wouldn’t they do some? You must be worth it to them!!

    • Steve Says:

      Medication control laws. If the doc thinks you need a 30 day supply, you get a 30 day supply. A mail order pharmacy has a little more leeway about filling the prescription, but I’m more comfortable with having someone put the bottle in my hand rather than running the risk of my meds getting lost in the mail.

Leave a Reply

