Welcome to the Adventures of a Funky Heart! Facebook Page!

“You can settle for less – an ordinary life – or do you feel that you were meant for something better? Something special?” – Captain Christopher Pike, Star Trek (2009)

WHO IS THE FUNKY HEART?
That would be me! My name is Steve, and I was born in 1966 with Tricuspid Atresia, a Congenital Heart Defect (CHD). Back then, there was no internet and very few CHD Survivors, and I literally grew up thinking that I was one of the few people who had a bad heart. And I very well might not be here for long.

I started writing Adventures of a Funky Heart in 2008. There are a lot of good people on Facebook supporting CHD Awareness, but I’ve discovered something: If you have a heart defect, there still seems to be a lack of good information about living with it. How do you take care of yourself? What kind of medical care do I need? Can I really grow up?

Am I one of only a few?

I try to answer these questions, drawing on my experiences living with a heart defect. I’ll also tell you about the latest in Congenital Cardiology; new medications; new surgical procedures; and tell you the stories of the people I have met living with a heart defect. I know CHDers who do spectacular things, like climbing a mountain after a heart transplant. And I know others who have “ordinary” lives, such as teaching. And every one of us fight our battles every day.

So if you want to follow the Funky Heart, come on! You’d be joining a lot of people, probably a lot more than you’ve ever dreamed. (There are about 2 MILLION of us living with a CHD in the United States!) You’ll find the website URL on the Info page!

(Note: This is meant as a post for the new Funky Heart! Facebook Page. Sometimes there will be a post created especially for the Facebook Page, but the WordPress website is NOT going anywhere, it will be maintained as usual! Don’t worry!)

3 Responses to “Welcome to the Adventures of a Funky Heart! Facebook Page!”

  1. carolyn Says:

    Nothing ordinary about being a teacher!LOL

    • Steve Says:

      Of course there isn’t! You’ll notice the word ordinary is in quotation marks, it is one of the most important jobs you could have! 🙂

  2. ashleyburgess Says:

    Two million. On one hand, it’s great to know that there are so many people who can empathize with what we deal with. On the other hand, there just shouldn’t be that many people walking around with CHDs. This is why I don’t understand why there isn’t more funding, more advocacy, more…something!

Leave a Reply

