You’ve come a long way, baby

Jill and Shane continue to report on Joshua. Diagnosed prenatally with Hypoplastic Left Heart Syndrome (HLHS), Joshua was delivered at a major medical center and was immediately sent to a Neonatal Intensive Care Unit. By contrast, I was born in a community hospital of less than 100 beds. My grandfather – only an occasional smoker – was so nervous that when I didn’t show up on time, he unwrapped the celebratory box of cigars that he planned to give away and lit up. He was chased outside (smoking was accepted almost everywhere in the mid 1960’s, but a nurse wasn’t comfortable with anyone smoking around the newborns) so he stood under a dogwood tree and smoked until he just had to find out how things were going. Then he jammed his cigar into a fork of the tree and rushed back inside. He never said anything about retrieving his cigar, so for all I know, it could still be there.

Joshua’s parents knew they would be on a roller coaster ride from the moment he arrived. I looked normal. There were no prenatal tests in the 60’s, not even a way to tell if the unborn child was a boy or a girl. Only my mother’s intuition led her to notice that something wasn’t exactly right, and she consulted a pediatrician. The pediatrician that they had used for my older brother was out of town so they talked to the New Guy.

The New Guy realized he was looking at a heart problem but wasn’t sure of the details, so he sent my parents and me to the BIG HOSPITAL 200 miles away. The Doctors at the BIG HOSPITAL figured out that I had Tricuspid Atresia… and stopped. They had never successfully treated a Tricuspid before, so they gave my folks the diagnosis and told them to take me home and enjoy the time I had. I was not long for this world.

New Guy hit the roof. BIG HOSPITAL may not be able to do anything, but he knew of places that would at least try. He found one, and to make a long story short, I was a patient of New Guy until I was 20 years old. The “new” had worn off by then, but he’s one of only two doctors to really understand what is going on inside of me – him and my current Cardiologist. I still see him around town every so often!

By contrast, Joshua was pegged as a Cardiac Kid long ago, while he was still being knit together in his mother’s womb. The moment he was born he was handed off to a skilled care unit. Their only job is to keep him stable until it is time for his repair. And while we thought 200 miles was quite a way to travel to a hospital, that’s no longer true. 200 miles is a short trip.

We’ve literally come a long way.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

