Road Trip!

GREETINGS FROM ATLANTA!

I’m in town for a scheduled checkup with my Cardiologist – tomorrow morning at the Adult Congenital Cardiology Clinic at Emory University Hospital. I’ve got to get on the right page – they’ve recently started calling the Clinic the EACH Center (Emory Adult Congenital Heart). That’s ok with me… they could call it the Greater Atlanta Earthworm Racing League if they wanted, they’re still number one in my book.

This is a routine appointment, scheduled months ago, but I have a feeling it could be a bit more detailed than usual…. it was planned before my fall. So I’m betting that I’ll be scrutinized a little closer than I normally would. That’s fine, and will really set my mind at ease.

I really can’t say enough about the Emory team – they keep me going. Not long after I was released from the Emergency Department in Houston and returned to my hotel room, I sent an e-mail to my Cardiologist and the unit Nurse Practitioner telling them what had happened. Within a few hours I received an e-mail back from both of them. My doctor was pleased at the level of care I had described, and told me to keep him informed. The NP had a question: Had I really tripped? Was it possible that I had blacked out? That could signal a larger problem.

Nope…. I tripped. I didn’t just hit the bag and go down, I lost balance and did a stutter-step or two before falling, so there was no question about that. I had fallen flat on my chest, too – right on my pacemaker. My cell phone was broken in the fall, could the pacer have been damaged, also? It’s certainly a lot more important to me than a cell phone! I called the pacer lab and they checked my pacemaker over the telephone right then…. and called with the results two hours later. It was fine, and my leads were functional, too.

So not only are they good, they can be fast when you need them!

4 Responses to “Road Trip!”

  1. Jill Haskins Says:

    Glad you made it safely! Praying for good results! :o)

  2. Shannon Carter Says:

    There’s nothing better than having a team you totally trust! And it doesn’t hurt that they truly care about you and are fast to boot!

    Keep us posted and we’ll be praying for great results!

  3. Bob Morrison Says:

    Steve. LOOKOUT it’s a laptop bag…..lol. Sounds like you have an amazing team supporting you and checking your pacemaker and leads over the phone lines, ain’t technology wonderful. Good luck with the checkup .

Leave a Reply

