Dreams of a Funky Heart

Beginning to get things together for the trip to Atlanta. The weather is predicted to be a low of 39 Friday night (Brrr!) with a high of 70. (No, I still do not like cold weather!)

And yes, I am smart enough to realize this is an American Heart Association event, and I do understand that the Heart Association does not support Heart Defect causes very well. That’s not the point. Emory University Hospital is a major sponsor and has entered a team; my Adult Congenital Cardiology group is based at Emory and they have entered a “mini-team”! We’ll have bandannas to mark us as CHD survivors, parents, and healthcare professionals. We’ll be well represented!

And I signed up for a Survivor’s cap, so I’ll have another hat to add to my collection. That may not be a good thing, I already have more hats than I have heads to wear them on. That will just thrill Momma!

It’s not about the hat, or the walk, which group I belong to, or even who is sponsoring it. It’s really about going and participating and being counted. Because when I was a little fella, I grew up thinking that there were very, very few kids around with a broken heart. The American Heart Association (back in the days when they were the only resource for any information on the heart) published a book titled When your Child has a Heart Defect. They only listed TEN different defects – I was too young then to realize that they had grouped several of them together. All of the defects of the blood vessels were grouped together, and the structural defects were grouped into Right Atrium Defects and Right Ventricle Defects. Add to that fact that there was very little known about left-sided heart defects in the early 1970’s, and as a result not many defects were covered. So the way I understood it, there were only ten different defects… there couldn’t be that many people who had one.

That “logic” made sense to me back then. So maybe by going, some Cardiac Kid can see me, and all the other adults living with broken hearts, and realize there are more out there than he/she knew about. And perhaps they will realize that they can beat that broken heart.

A Funky Heart can dream, can’t he?

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

