Field Trip!

“Any of you guys up for a field trip?” my Adult Congenital Cardiologist, Dr. Mike McConnell, asked at the Atlanta Heart Walk.

Most of the patients said yes. “Where we going?” I asked.

“Oh, we’re just heading over to the Sibley tent,” McConnell said, pointing. “Just over there.”

Our “field trip” was a short one, only about 100 feet away. We walked up to a tent about an equal number of adults and children with a couple of people in STAFF shirts. The sign read

Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta/Sibley Heart Center

“Hi, guys!” Dr. McConnell said. “I brought some of our Adult CHD patients over. We want you to grow up to be just like these people.”

I met three or four of the Cardiac Kids (I didn’t have any of my Lucky Coins to give away! What a let down!) and one young man who was really shy. He wouldn’t speak to me, he held on to his mother’s neck and hid his face.

“Do you have a special heart?” I asked, trying to draw him out. Very reluctantly he nodded yes.

“I do too! You wanna see?” I unbuttoned the top two buttons of my shirt – not going any further on a 42 degree morning – and bent over to show him my scar.

“He’s got a scar just like yours!” his mom said. But my man was still close-mouthed, he wouldn’t tell me his name… and he lied about his age!!

“How old are you?” I asked. “Six.”

“You aren’t six!” His mom laughed. “Try again!”

“Two.”  Mom rolled her eyes. “Noooooo! He’s four!” During our conversation I learned that the little fellow has Dextrocardia – his heart is “flipped” in the opposite direction. As I understood it, most of his other organs are flipped, also. But it was obvious that he was shy, and I was not someone he knew. So mom and I talked doctors for a moment and then I said goodbye.

I’m sorry I never got your name!

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Field Trip!”

  1. Melissa Bernardino Says:

    I’m sorry Ava and I missed seeing you at the walk! We were late arriving and we came over to the Emory tent after the walk but couldn’t find you. We had a nice chat with Dr. McConnell (who was still going out of his way to introduce the kids to the adults!), Kim B, her mom, and a couple of other adults whose names escape me. Maybe next time we’ll meet in person – until then, take care.

    • Steve Says:

      Oh, shoot! I took off as soon as the walkers got started. Gave them a little time to get down the street and then started for home. I was colder than a Popsicle and still had an 8 hour drive.

      I am so sorry I missed you!

Leave a Reply

