Got what you need?

They had two walking routes at the Atlanta Heart Walk: a 6 Kilometer (3.7 mile) route and a 1 mile “Survivor’s Walk”. Several times, one of the other Adult CHDers stated that she was going on the Survivor’s Walk. Then suddenly she was looking for Dr. McConnell. “What would you think if I tried the long walk?”

“Do you feel up to it?” he asked.

She nodded. “I’ll do the three and a half mile walk if you’ll walk it with me.”

“I’m game,” Dr. McConnell said, and they moved off to the area where people were gathering for the longer walk.

I left not long after the walkers started – it was cold, and I am Cyanotic. A couple of my friends had the telltale blue tinge, and I am sure I resembled a grape! With me changing colors and shivering in my shoes, and 60% of the attendees out on the Walk, it seemed the perfect time to take off. But I had to laugh at the “preparations” we make before going on a 3.5 mile hike:

Got your water bottle? Check!

Wearing comfortable shoes? Check!

Got your Cardiologist? CHECK!

Epilogue: The walk went really well, and no one – Heart Warrior or doctor – suffered any ill effects!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

