Balance

My Congestive Heart Failure (CHF) is worse.

I think the problem is correctable. When I was having the Gout flare-ups a few months ago, my Cardiologist took me off of one of my Diuretics. One of the side effects is that it can cause Gout, and I haven’t had very many problems with the Gout since.

But recently I’ve noticed swelling in my ankles, a constant cough, and I feel run down most of the time. So I asked my Cardiologist for permission to start taking that drug again… every other day. That ought to be frequently enough to help me, without causing the Gout.

With a heart defect everything seems to be a balancing act. We discontinued the drug to keep the Gout at bay, but it seems that I’m feeling worse. So I’m taking it again – at half the dosage I was originally taking it. So if my self-diagnosis is correct and resuming the drug will straighten me out, it will take twice as long for it to work (since I’m taking half the dose). If it doesn’t seem to be the solution, I’ll have to talk to my Cardiologist again, and we’ll have to figure out a Plan B. And there is always that thought in the back of your mind: What if Plan B doesn’t work? Plan C might, but even if it works wonderfully, that’s one more option off the table.

Stay hydrated… but with your CHF, don’t drink more than 2000 millilitres (2 liters, or 67 US liquid ounces) per day. Normally that’s more than enough to drink, but what if I pick up a stomach bug that keeps me in the bathroom constantly? Then you can break the 2000 ML rule – but be careful! We don’t want to start having too much fluid in you. You also need to limit your salt intake to no more than 2000 milligrams per day. But when you get that stomach bug, Oral Rehydration will help tremendously… and Oral Rehydration is mainly (you guessed it!) water mixed with sugar and salt.

The goal is to try to keep everything in balance, to give your medications the best opportunity to help your body. If your doctor says to exercise, do so. (I’m one to talk! I have walked very little since hurting my knees in my July fall.) Don’t just fill a new prescription, question the doctor about the medication. What is it supposed to do? How will it help me? And what side effects should I look out for?

And be sure to ask the most important question: What can I do to help myself?

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment